Regional Storage Potential

The PCOR Partnership region covers an area of over 1.4 million square miles in the central interior of North America and includes all or part of nine states (Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Wyoming) and four Canadian provinces (Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan).

The PCOR Partnership region has significant potential to reduce anthropogenic CO2 emissions to the atmosphere by storing the carbon from CO2 at the surface or in the subsurface. Storing carbon in soils and plant materials at the surface of Earth is called terrestrial sequestration. Storing CO2 in geologic layers deep beneath the surface of the Earth is called geologic sequestration.

Regional characterization activities conducted by the PCOR Partnership involved characterizing regional sources of CO2 and assessing and prioritizing the geologic and terrestrial storage potential and the CCS regulatory framework within the region.